Throwback Thursday: The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore

Morris Lessmore

I was interning at Simon & Schuster when this book published and my manager recommended it. The art pulled me in and I read it at work, and promptly teared up. This book made me sad.  When I watched the Academy Award winning short film right after, it made it worse. Don’t get me wrong, this book is gorgeous and I love it. Written by William Joyce and illustrated by Joe Bluhm, this is a book about books.

61hau2j1lsL

Flap Copy:

Morris Lessmore loved words.
He loved stories.
He loved books.
But every story has its upsets.
Everything in Morris Lessmore’s life, including his own story, is scattered to the winds.
But the power of story will save the day.”

Besides just being a wonderfully illustrated book, this book will hit all book lovers in the feels. Mr. Morris Lessmore takes care of the books, and as humans do, he gets old and the books take care of him. I am choking up just thinking of this book.

It might just the fact that I am an adult reader and can see the metaphors, but I am not sure if a younger child would enjoy this. Really, when I think about it, this book is more of an art piece than a book I would give to a young kid.

Note: it is hard to write reviews about picture books without majorly spoiling it. So please forgive me if this post leaves you feeling uninformed; I don’t want to ruin it for you.

However, I will share with you the short film.

Leave a Reply

