Soulprint Review

Soulprint

Title: Soulprint

Author Megan Miranda

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Flap copy:

“Seventeen-year-old Alina Chase has spent her entire life imprisoned on a secluded island—not for a crime she committed in this lifetime, but one done by her past self. Her very soul is like a fingerprint, carried from one life to the next—and Alina is sick of being guilty.

Aided by three teens with their own ulterior motives, Alina manages to escape. Although she’s not sure she can trust any of them, she soon finds herself drawn to Cameron, the most enigmatic and alluring of the trio. But when she uncovers clues from her past life, secrets begin to unravel and Alina must figure out whether she’s more than the soul she inherited, or if she’s fated to repeat history.”

I am feeling very conflicted about this book. One the one hand, it has an amazing premise and so much potential. On the other hand, I hate when books are so obvious it is painful. Let me clarify this: the information they find was NOT obvious, but the journey was. The book starts off with Alina on her island and then her rescue. From there we go to point B, get the clue, and off to point C.

The first day I picked this book up to read, I got up to the early 100s. This book is about 350 pages so I felt the book was strong. And then I floundered. The pace of the first 100 pages kept me engaged, but the middle just sagged. I have spent almost a week trying to finish this book. I decided to plow through it. Last 50 pages picked up the pace again. The problem with this book wasn’t the characters, or the premise. The problem was that it lost steam halfway through and only rallied again in the last 50 pages.

Would I have acquired this book? I’m not sure and I am not sure if I could have helped. I might read some of her other work to see if this book was the anomaly.

Leave a Reply

