Another Year, Another BEA

As the title suggests, another year has passed, and one of my favorite events of the publishing industry has arrived: BEA (Book Expo America). What is BEA, you might ask? Well it is a trade show where publishers from all over come together. There are panels, author signings, free books, everything you can possibly imagine.

Last year, I made out like a bandit. Last year, I went as a volunteer for two days and had one day to just spend fangirling over books. Last year, I didn’t work for a trade publisher.

10420323_10203069096641514_2483821543930395538_n

This year was a whole new ballgame.

This year, I could only attend for 3 hours, on a shared pass among the other staffers. This year, I didn’t have a suitcase to fill, only a canvas tote. Whatever I took needed to be worth it to haul across town later and back to work.

This was not the BEA I was used to but the one I should probably come to expect.

First off: some of the books I wanted were not available until later in the day when I was going to back at work. Some of the books are only available certain days, and some of the books were already gone.

So what did I grab? What was worthy of going into the tote?

20150529_143712

  1. Heartbreakers by Ali Novak. I have wanted to read this forever. I heard about it last year when I was an intern at Sourcebooks and it is FINALLY here.
  2. Symphony for the City of the Dead by M.T. Anderson.
  3. A Whole New World by Liz Braswell. Disney is doing this re-imagined YA series about some of their films. EPIC.

These were the books I wanted. But I had to hunt down one of my favorite smaller publishers, Thunderbay Books, to get to their line, World Cloud Classics.

Honestly, if you are looking to buy some classics for your home library or as a gift to someone, ALWAYS opt for these bad boys.

download (1)

Every year, I swing by and pick up a ton of these. They are gorgeous to look at; they are gorgeous to touch; they rock.

20150529_14443320150529_144501

This year, they have something new: Novel Journals. Same basic design style as the other line, BUT the lines where you usually write is the TEXT of the novel.20150529_144508

This is too beautiful. They gave me two bookmarks and a tote bag but let’s be honest:  I LOVE these people and their design team.

Unlike in year passed when I was on a roll for books, this year I slowed it down. I talked to people I know, I fangirled at Adam Silvera (I totally showed him the notebook), looked at a book I might want to buy (::gasp::), and I got a back massage.

20150529_104216

BEA as a working professional was different, but some things stay the same.

And I earned a post BEA treat.

20150529_115652 20150529_124627

Leave a Reply

