Alternating POV: What’s up with that?

I have to get something off my chest: I am really not into with alternating points of view (POV) and it seems to be EVERYWHERE!

Hello all the books with multiple POVS.

Unless it is done well, and I will admit there are times it is done well (The Winner’s Curse, An Ember in the Ashes, etc.), I just cringe when I see that a book is going to do an alternating POV.

I am finally coming out of my series fatigue, and now I think I am starting to have POV whiplash (I’m coining that phrase).

POV whiplash can be avoided three ways:

  1. Just don’t read books that have multiple POVS
  2. Only read single POV books
  3. Only read authors would write multiple POV well.

So why do author’s do multiple POVs?

Honestly, I have no clue. When it works, it works really well. And when it doesn’t, I feel like you wasted all these pages that could have been put to better use.

Looking at my NYC bookshelves (for those of you wondering, I have the majority of my library still in Texas), I notice that I favor single POV books. There is something so intimate with only having one POV. You are right there with that character and feel their emotions and confusion that much more powerful.

And some stories really require only one POV. I recently tweeted that I would love to see a YA from a villain’s perspective. That is one area that the POV should just focus on the villain and no one else.

When did alternating POV or multiple POV become so popular? My brain is saying with Breaking Dawn though I am sure authors have been doing it much longer.

I am just over the POV whiplash.

giphy (13)

One thought on “Alternating POV: What’s up with that?

  1. I totally agree. Most of the time when I read alternating POV I find myself favouring one of the characters over the other. I also really hate to read romance that way. I think part of the fun is the uncertainty about what the other person is feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

