Why I Gave Up on Kierra Cass and Why I Almost Did on Sarah J. Maas

I bought the newest Selection novel and A Court of Mist and Fury (review to come soon), and I have a confession: I am done with Kierra Cass, and I almost threw in the towel on Sarah J. Maas. Don’t get me wrong, I do love their books and I follow them on Twitter, but I have had it up to here.

51DEh8yscHL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

When I started reading The Crown, I just couldn’t bring myself to want to read it. With my job, I spend a lot of time reading books and make judgments on many factors. And when I tried reading this new Cass book, I just snapped back to my annoyance with the previous book. The writing was too commercial, and the character drove me nuts. When there are only so few hours I can dedicate to fun reading, I find myself getting pickier. I like The Selection series, but the quality has really gone downhill. While they remain the same size, quality is not the same.

When I got A Court of Mist and Fury, I almost cried. It was the same size of Queen of Shadows and I had strong feelings about that book. I love Maas’ writing and I love her stories and strong characters, but I am getting really frustrated by how big those books are getting! Queen of Shadows did not need to be that big. Someone needs to help trim those books down. But I was pleasantly surprised by A Court of Mist and Fury. I think there are some areas that could have been cut, but on the whole, I wouldn’t have cut that much of that book down.  I’m not throwing in the towel yet. But seriously, please don’t get any bigger and please be more critical about what needs to go in!

If I had unlimited time, I’d probably be on board with it all, but really, who has that kind of time anymore?

2 thoughts on “Why I Gave Up on Kierra Cass and Why I Almost Did on Sarah J. Maas

  1. I haven’t read any Sarah J. Maas yet. I think I might be the only blogger who hasn’t! I’ve heard some things I don’t especially like about A Court of Thrones and Roses.

    I haven’t read The Selection either. Honestly they don’t sound like anything especially different to me. I think that’s the frustrating part – sometimes a book is fine and enjoyable enough but it still feels like it’s just ticking off a list of Things That Make Good YA.

    Like

  2. Between the two, I think Sarah J. Maas is the better read. If you are interested in reading her, start with Throne of Glass as you can watch the evolution of her writing (and her editor not editing) as that series progresses.

    I think what is the key difference between The Selection and A Court of Thorns and Roses is that The Selection was always set up to be this romance, but A Court of Thorns and Roses set setting up an action adventure, fantasy. A Court of Thorns and Roses is technically an adult title that gets sold through YA, which is why i know a lot of people who didn’t like it either. And i know in the second book I could have done without all the sex scenes.

    Working in children’s books, I agree: sometimes authors do have a checklist, as if they are like “must do this, must do this, must do this.” I don’t mind if an author has a checklist as long as it doesn’t read that way or if the story feels fresh even if it is walking the same ground as everything before it. That’s actually how i first read The Selection, It was Hunger Games meets The Bachelor, but felt different enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

